Life is not a journey…

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and proclaiming “Wow! What a ride!”

I am not sure to whom this quote should be attributed. I saw it in a catalog called casual living – full of pretties and things that float my boat. This quote struck me on many levels. Some people might view it as a hedonistic quote and I certainly don’t disagree that it can be interpreted as such, but after the Easter Sunday I had – the manner in which I felt God dealt with me by putting the right speakers in the right place at the right time – well, I don’t think the aforementioned quote has to be about rolling into the pearly gates with a hangover, a cigarette in one hand and a martini in the other.

I had the opportunity to visit the church of R’s friend this morning. The friend had come for our Easter egg hunt yesterday, had gone to the cantata, attended early service celebrating the resurrection at our church and had invited us to do likewise at her 11am service. I believe in my heart that R needed moral support for the new situation, but I more importantly think God orchestrated it for me to be there. The pastor gave a somewhat atypical Easter sermon – not really giving much time to the resurrection of Jesus but preaching a message that hit me hard between the eyes. It was all about the games we play with God – solitaire, charades, monopoly and trivial pursuit – all having their own scriptural definitions. I must say I am guilty of at least 3 of those perhaps with the exception of solitaire. Charades is about putting a mask on and pretending to be a Christian when there is no substance, Trivial Pursuit is putting little things in front of our walk with God and Monopoly is having to keep control of ours lives and refusing to relinquish it to God. I was left feel pretty broken, but like I could start anew. Whew – I have been struggling a lot lately – I know I am not where I am supposed to be and I asked God to help me work it all out.

So in regard to this quote, we as Christians, hopefully will not arrive at the grave not having fought hard in the fields that are ripe for harvest – we shouldn’t die with every hair in place never having taken risks for the kingdom. I am not sure I am getting my point across – I can feel it and almost touch it, but am having difficulty typing it.

You know…along the same lines I am reminded of a Thoreau quote (here is a brief excerpt)
I went into the woods because I wanted to live deliberately. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life… to put to rout all that was not life; and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.

I hope to reach a point in my relationship with Christ that I live VERY deliberately and deeply.

Just a thought.

Happy Easter!

Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in faith. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life is not a journey…

  1. journeytomom says:

    I don’t think that particular quote is him, but Rich Mullins said something similar in a video I saw of him once. Good thoughts to ponder.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for sharing a bit of your story. Hope to see you around.
    Blessings,
    Melissa

  2. ellensilva says:

    Thank you so much for your comment – I love Rich Mullins…what a wonderful artist who I selfishly feel left this earth too early!

    Blessings,

    Ellen

  3. ellensilva says:

    We all enter the world the same way- Wet, Naked, Soaked in blood. If you play your cards right, that sort of thing doesn’t have to end there. Love, Your husband, Dave

Leave a Reply

