My Parents

My parents are two of the most wonderful people I know. I am sure that most of you feel that way about your parents as well. My parents have been married for 52 years. They have been amazing examples of love and commitment. They struggled with infertility for 7 years, back in the day when there really wasn’t anything to do about it. Their fertility treatment consisted of total resignation and the purchase of a 1962 two seater british sports car – a racing green austin healey bugeye sprite! Be still my heart. Almost immediately, my brother J was on his way! 3 Years later came my brother T and the decision to try once more for a girl came 5 years later and I arrived in mid summer of 1970.

I think the fact that their brood did not come easily made them throw themselves bodily into parenting. Mom was always a room mother and sunday school teacher. Daddy was a scout master and chaperoned band trips for 11 years. I can count on one hand the times I was left with a babysitter (whether you agree or not) and recall fondly summer family vacations with all five of us piled in a pale green ford ranch wagon. I remember my childhood in a rather enchanted sort of way.

They have continued to love, guide, and support us through our adulthood. I am a theater nut and have participated in community theater for years – they come to my plays no matter how large or small of a part I have. They have given us roots and wings, are close when we need them to be and give us breathing room to make our own mistakes when that need arises as well. They gave us a firm foundation in the church and are examples of quite enduring faith. I cannot imagine life without them. They treat my stepchildren no differently than their biological grandchildren (bio is not the word I want to use because as an infertile couple – my children will not be bio).

They came to Jesus Shall Reign last night and stayed over to take R and me out to lunch and shopping. They love strongly and consistently in this manner. Daddy will be 78 this year and mom will be 72 and when life is a struggle for me, their mortality becomes almost a phobia to me. I know God will give me the strength to live on this earth without them, but so often has been my prayer that He would take me first. I realize that sounds morbid – I guess I am just being honest. I will always be thankful to God for the blessings of my parents. I hope my life honors them.

Peace!

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in family, home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Parents

  1. journeytomom says:

    What a beautiful description of your parents’ love. How truly blessed you are. Gee, I want to meet them and adopt them myself. 🙂

    My childhood was not so idealic, but I feel the same way about my parents (the thought of living life when they’re gone). I believe I was a honeymoon baby and my folks were not quite ready for parenthood. We had many bumps in the road. However, in spite of their issues, they did a pretty good job and I think I turned out all right. Thanks for reminding me to be thankful for the parents God gave me.

  2. Pingback: The Broken Road

Leave a Reply

