Organizationally Challenged!

I am constantly amazed at how other people with jobs and kids can make their house look like a showcase for their local homerama! I never have enjoyed mess or clutter but it seemed that try as I might I always had several spots (tables and such) that had pile of “unclassifiables” on them. I mean just looking at them made my eyes turn into those cartoon hypnoswirls, made my mouth fall open and the word “DUH” pop out. We had 17 guests for thanksgiving and our house was very tidy except for a couple of these UAJs – unclassifiable areas of junk. Friends from church came early and were cooking one of the turkeys. Sweetly, the wife, who has the most gorgeous, clean, magazine home offered to help do the impossible on former kitchen table which was going to double as a buffet table that day. I realized the extent of the humor in this when she came to me and said “where do you keep your sound boards?” holding a variety of computer gadgets and gizmos in both hands. These had been next to the one armed broken sunglasses, the surgical tape and the set of keys that we have no clue what they may or may have unlocked.

Fast forward away from that annoying picture. I finally said enough is enough. Approximately 2 months ago I jumped on the FLYlady bandwagon. I had been told about her and never had dove in. If you are not familiar with this check out her website at http://www.FLYlady.net. It is indescribable – all I know is years of neat, organized people trying to tell me how to heal myself was not working….AT ALL. FLYlady is the most amazing woman who apparently was disorganized and just like me and managed to find a way that suited her – she teaches you how to set up basic routines and how to declutter your house and your life. I am like a new convert. You just have to check it out. It doesn’t cost anything so I am definitely not trying to sell you, but my house is unlike it has ever been before because she has simplified it for even the organizationally challenged and each day she sends out encouraging testimonials, which continue to show me, it isn’t just me. Before my clutter was my little secret, but now there IS no secret. The only room left to tackle is my bedroom – which is halfway there.

Peace!

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Organizationally Challenged!

  1. Denise says:

    I will definitely check out the flylady. I could also use some help in that area, as well as a couple of *empty* files cabinets! 🙂 My DD is moving out for good this weekend, and I am looking forward to having a completely empty room once again. I will try to not just transfer junk in there, though.

  2. Ellen says:

    Thanks Denise – she is awesome!! I bet you are sad about your DD moving – have a great day!!!

  3. Wardeh says:

    Ellen, you’re inspirational! I have a clutter secret. I don’t think I’m ready for flylady though. 😉 Love, Wardeh

  4. journeytomom says:

    Sounds great Ellen. I’d love to hear how you went about figuring out your morning & bedtime routine. I haven’t been able to get that yet. 🙂
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

