Over the Rainbow and Paradise

Last year,  this very week, I was on the trip of a lifetime. For our anniversary, my husband sprung for a ticket to Maui so that I could spend a week at a timeshare with his sister-in-law and her family. Until I had met my husband, the furthest I had ventured was as north as Pennsylvania, as south as Florida and as west as Tennessee. Since then I have expanded my inventory of states visited quite a bit but exotic hadn't yet described any of my destinations.

 For those of you who have been to Hawaii, you will know what I am talking about when I say it is one of the most beautiful places on Earth (and by far the most beautiful I had ever visited) – other of you will have to take my word for it and go staight to expedia or orbitz and book this trip of a lifetime. Talk about God's majesty! It is hard not to believe in our heavenly father when you are swimming with fish, gazing at lingering sunsets, seeing your 3rd or 4th rainbow of the day, or splashing in a waterfall as geckos scurry by.

 7 days is too much to encapsulate in this one post. The weather was perfect. I could see two other islands from my perch at our timeshare. The church we attended was jam packed and had no ac – just cathedral ceilings for the heat to drift heavenward and towering windows which swung open to catch tradewinds.

Rainbows were frequent occurrences and not the exceptions, sunsets lingered forever and the ocean was the color of a diet pepsi bottle.

It is hard not to venture back there in my mind and images of the wonderful adventure to the most gorgeous place visit me on a daily basis. There was a Hawaiian artist named Israel Kamakawiwo Ole'. He sang the song used in several movies today – Over the Rainbow/What a Wonderful World.

In my reverie, I bob my head to that song and praise God that I was able to enjoy some distant beauty of His Creation. I also thank Him for the wonderful husband who sent me on this trip selflessly and who held down the fort while I was away.

 Aloha!

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in faith, family, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Over the Rainbow and Paradise

  1. Carol says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip! It’s fun to travel to places where you can see the wonderful things that God has made. We’re hoping to go to Hawaii for our 25th, which will be in 3 years. Anyhow, thanks for sharing your adventure.

  2. bereans says:

    Lived in Hawaii for a year, Ellen. Enjoyed my time there.

    -j

  3. Helen Losse says:

    Hi Ellen, Thanks for your comments on my blog. I’ll add you to my blog roll later. Sounds like you had a great trip.

  4. journeytomom says:

    Ahhhh, sounds wonderful. We spent our first three anniversaries in HI – thanks to the Army. 🙂
    What you say is so true. Maui was our favorite island. But from daily life, what I missed the most was driving somewhere and suddenly catching a view of the vast ocean – spectacular! Thanks for the pleasant reminder.

    Oh, it seems “Happy Anniversary!” is in order.

  5. Pingback: bonus casinò

  6. Pingback: on line unsecure short term loan cash advances in birmingham al

  7. Pingback: seniors insure automobile online www all state com glendale arizona kia sedona

Leave a Reply

