Child-like Wonder

My husband and I sacrificed greatly this weekend – we babysat our grandchild for 48 hours. Trust me when I say babysitting this precious dumpling is NO sacrifice at all. She is precious, well mannered and loving! If my stepdaughter only knew the power she could hold over us, the earthly gains she could insist upon in exchange for allowing us the privilege of spending time with her 3 year old…

I look at how melancholy I am – how truly pessimistically I view my life and wonder when we stop being like 3 year olds.

Emmie looks trustingly into my eyes knowing that I will meet her needs both physically and emotionally and knowing that I will never hurt her. Somewhere along the line, I stopped gazing into others' faces similarly.

She is amazed by bugs and bubbles, my cat and a huge blow up frog float that we got her for our pool…because I blew it up, she insists that I made it for her and the value of this is greater than money or chocolate or 5 new dolls. Somewhere along the line, I ceased to be amazed by the majesty both great and small that God has placed before me.

And she shows gratitude and thanksgiving for God's goodness. When we left for church yesterday morning she asked repeatedly if we could go in the pool when we got home – it was cold and rainy. We told her the sun had to come out and the air had to warm up.

When we emerged from church 2 hours later, the sun was shining brightly, but her facing was shining more brightly still – grandma ellen, the sun came out!!! The sun came out – we can put on our baving soups and go in da pool!!! Grand dad!! The sun came out!!!! The zest and zeal for the emerging sun brought joy to my heart as she settled back into her car seat smiling with contentment – an all knowing look filled her countenance – the sun had indeed come out and our lives were better for it.

Imagine a world where we proclaimed with the same level of excitement that The SON, our savior came out! That this excitement extended beyond Easter sunday.

So today, I praise God for Emmie (my teacher), bugs, bubbles, frog floaties and the Son coming out!

Peace!

DSCF0129.JPG

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, church, faith, family, home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Child-like Wonder

  1. Rose says:

    Children are a blessing. They most certainly enrich our lives.

  2. Carol says:

    Hi Ellen,

    I enjoyed your post. Sometimes I really miss my kids when they were that age, but I find that at times they still have that childlike wonder. It just doesn’t happen nearly as often. Hope you continue to enjoy that 3 year old blessing!

    Carol

  3. Larry says:

    I am surrounded by girls from my wife down to the little-est at 11 months. 7 Girls in all. I roll my eyes alot like its just sooo much trouble but, I wouldn’t change a single thing. I love all my girls and every smile makes it all worth-while.

    Larry

  4. journeytomom says:

    Praising along side you! She sounds like almost as big a sweetie as my little guy, also three. It sure has it’s challenges, but I love this age. As “Grandma Ellen” you get mostly the sweetness, and very little of the challenges. Enjoy!
    Big Smiles,
    Melissa

  5. Jayleigh says:

    looks trustingly into my eyes

    I’ve often wondered about this. I see my nieces, or my goddaughters look into my eyes without looking away. They don’t need to say anything, and best of all, they don’t need me to BE anything… just Jayleigh who loves them.

    Heheh you just reminded me of a little girl whom my aunt sat with a few years back… she said, “I want my babing soup on, I SAID!!” tooo funny!

    And a sweet little Emme! Bless you all!

  6. Helen Losse says:

    Hi Ellen,

    Lovely story about a lovely child. And bubbles, indeed. How can one be less than a child when bubbles are involved? Would that we become more childlike in all our wonder.

  7. hockamama says:

    Ah, Ellen, what a sweet sacrifice! babies are such blessings; grandbabies even more so. Thank you, Ellen, for always keeping things in perspective for me. Much love to you.

Leave a Reply

