Honor Your Father and Mother So That Your Days Might Be Long

As I have gone through life, I have honored my mother and father to different degrees, not intentionally dishonoring them, but not necessarily focusing on obeying this commandment.

I have blogged before about my parents. Here is a link. They are incredibly special people. Through the years, I have not always treated them with honor or respect, occasionally flying off at the mouth and I am sure my choices in life have not always honored them either. I hope this is the case for most people. I have not tried to dishonor them.

They are my heroes and if my admiration and appreciation for them had a direct correlation to the length of my days I may give Methuselah a run for his money. I suppose this verse speaks more to honoring your parents wisdom which leads to paths which do not cut short our time here or beyond.

As mentioned before, my parents are getting older – funny how that sneaks up on us. Daddy is 77 and mom is 71. I had a very hard time when daddy turned 70 – like the end was iminent. I was always afraid that each time I saw him would be the last. Somewhere along the line that fear subsided, but the thought of losing my parents is something I don't wish to dwell on.

I didn't get to see daddy on Father's Day because I had a massive cold and did not want to be responsible for either of my parents getting sick. The choice not to go was a sad one because time is fleeting and who knows how many more father's days we have. As it turns out, mom called me today to tell me that daddy, too,has a massive cold. I worry – that is my nature. Somewhere along the line we start worrying about our parents as much as they worry about us. Mom assured me she would take care of him and said she was glad I didn't come Sunday because I would feel responsible – she knows me so well.

I wish the verse in the title promised longer days for parents if we honor them – as if our appreciation and respect gave their bodies a superpower. But such is not the case and I am sure I am not the only person who mourns their parents mortality.

I am not ready for them to go yet – they have so much more to teach me. I pray God grants me more time with them.

Peace!

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, church, faith, family, home, life, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Honor Your Father and Mother So That Your Days Might Be Long

  1. Larry says:

    Today my dad had implants put in his eyes, and cataracts removed. He is 65. I hate seeing old age creep up on him. He has always been the TOWER. Big and strong. Bothers me to no end.

    Larry

  2. writeathome says:

    Yes, it is hard to think about our parents’ mortality. I never dreamed that my dad would pass away at age 56. Life is uncertain, but we can’t dwell on the fact that they will pass away someday, because then we won’t enjoy them in the present. Enjoy them now while they’re still here, and make memories that won’t fade away when they do.

    Blessings,

    Carol

Leave a Reply

