New Floor

All of my adult life flooring has been an issue for me.

My first home, a rental, had fire engine red plush carpet in the hallways and living room. The kitchen was an authentic retro combination of those industrial tiles you see in schools in a pattern of black, gray and butter cream yellow. Needless to say, the flooring dictated the decor and not vice versa. This is when I developed an affinity for navy blue living room furniture. The kitchen presented more of a challenge. But I was newly on my own and this home was independence and "having arrived" all rolled into one! This home saw the courtship, beginning, middle and end of my first marriage – plenty of happy, and finally, plenty of sad.

When my husband and I moved into our historic (translation OLD) house in 2001, there was a combination of brown shags, torn linoleums, and a lovely seafoam green plush scattered throughout. My guess is that the owner/former landlord hit the clearance section…A LOT! Keep in mind that we got this house for 22K – yes you read that correctly. It had 4 bedrooms, two baths and being in NC, no centralized heating system. We tried a lot of bandaid solutions, especially after the seafoam got ruined by my pup who came down with something akin to dysentary. We peeled up carpets, tried refinishing floors – again, I use the word tried – we even found a heap of carpet, literally on the side of the highway, nearly new condition, with cut outs indicative of having been stripped from a house – it lasted a couple of years. When we sold this house to some friends who are much more creative and capable, the flooring was still an issue and still very tired – they have since remedied much of this!

Our new house was paradise on earth when we first walked into it – nice berber in each room in shades of blue and gray. I think the paradise part was the central air and heat in august but I digress. The problem with carpet is not the carpet – it is Paddington and Britta – our dogs, and Madison and Jefferson – our cats! They shed, they smell, they scratch and smell some more! I love them dearly but something has to give.

Also, apparently the sellers of our home gilded it quite a bit. 29 cent peel and stick tiles and a bathroom linen closet where the frame and door fell out last week. I laugh, lest I cry. It was and is beautiful and remains a blessing to this day.

Another blessing is my job – I am a speech pathologist by trade and the school system in which I work offers two extra weeks of work during the summer doing educational diagnostic testing yielding an additional paycheck.

I have the most horrid time making commitments and decisions when it comes to dropping what I would consider massive amounts of money and if it is 3 figures, it is massive to me – did I mention I am a tightwad?

I got paid yesterday and did it!! – the first REAL flooring I have ever purchased. I bought 370 sq ft of swiftlock plus from Lowe's with a 25 year warranty to do my kitchen and dining room – it is a beautiful light color and will be installed the next couple of weeks by my stepson and my husband!! I am terribly excited and it doesn't break our budget because the money came from my extra work!!

 God is awesome! I don't only think this when material things come to me but this time instead of piddling away the money because I didn't think I deserved to purchase something tangible, I will have something underfoot, better than 29 cent tiles, that matches everything and will last 25 years because Armstrong promised me it would!

and I thought I had arrived with the plush red!

Peace!

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, family, home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Floor

  1. Jayleigh says:

    I LOVE this sentence: All of my adult life flooring has been an issue for me.

    I didn’t have time to read the whole post before, and every time I came back here, I’d laugh and laugh. So I finally read it today.

    In our first home, the carpet was brown and tan shag (we inherited my Grandparents’ orange and black plaid sofa too!). In the house we’re in now, the bathroom had icky torn linoleum on the COUNTERTOP and the sink was blue, and the toilet was yellow! blehhhh

    🙂 You will love the laminate flooring. We put some down in our addition and it’s lovely.

  2. Helen Losse says:

    I know the feeling. In our first apartment, we had gold carpet. Gold! I hated it and swore I’d never live with it again. Well, here we are threee houses later in a house we bought with gold carpet in it. We’ve been here 20 years July 1st and we still have the stuff. But we are getting a new kitchen floor, and we will get new carpet some day. I just hope I’m not too old to walk on it when we do!

  3. momsaway says:

    How awesome about the new flooring! We need to work on ours, but I’m going to wait until my last teenager is moved out first. In the mean time, I just clean it as often as I can. I’ve been offline at word press for a little while, as I had a computer crash a few weeks ago. Blessings!

  4. Larry says:

    Congrats! I know how you feel. I cannot wait until we own our own home. We have leased for a long time. That is so cool to do something tangible. Here’s to going barefoot on your new floor!

    Larry

  5. dixie says:

    Wow, you have hit the nail on the head for many of us who live in houses which need new carpeting, tile etc. Frugal is my middle name and I hate the thought of spending money on flooring which with the brood that lives here would probably be ruined in a couple of years. Thanks for the chuckle.

    Dixie (nan)

  6. Carol says:

    Well Ellen, I am just floored by this post! 🙂 No seriously, I hope you throroughly enjoy the new floor.

    Carol

  7. hockamama says:

    Congrats, Ellen! New flooring is definitely sweet. I hope y’all enjoy it for the next 25 years. And, I know what you mean about AC in NC. We moved into this house in June of ’98, with only a wood burning stove in the living room. We had 5 window units that first summer. The next year, we were able to put in a furnace with central air, thank you, Jesus! I know NC isn’t the hottest place in the world, but…

    P.S. Have things settled back to normal, now that R is back home?

    Love, Holly

Leave a Reply

