Material and Emotional Vandalism

I am still in a state of disbelief. I am the type of person who tries to give the benefit of the doubt whenever someone makes a poor choice. I tend to be more on the mercy than justice side. I get this from my mom who can probably find good in Charles Manson and tries to find good in the actions of other people who shall remain nameless. This is a wonderful trait when you are the recipient of the grace. This is a horrid trait when someone is looking to you to provide sympathy for someone’s actions. My mom has annoyed me more than one time in this area – I love you, mom.

This morning I received a phone call from the colleague who shares my office trailer. It would appear that some bored juveniles vandalized it in the past two days. I was hoping that she, being fresh out of college and from a small town, had a different idea of vandalism than I did. When I later told her this, she laughed.

Dave and I rushed to town (30 minutes away) and entered the trailer. I was not prepared for what I saw. Every game, every box, every book, every toy – tossed everywhere – with acrylic paint poured forth over everything. And my two beloved pictures of R and her dad, and R and us at the fair, missing with pieces of frame scattered on the floor.

Having received the called an hour before, I expected to be greeted by a police man or having watched too many CSIs, a yellow crime scene tape. Nope, no one was there. No one. Just all my therapy materials tossed about as if wild animals had been turned loose in there.

Tears started to flow as my husband called 911. This had already been a challenging school year and to see this disaster not knowing where to start cleaning or if to start cleaning – it was too much to bear for the moment.

One lone police man arrived. He surveyed the damage and dismissed it. This happens every year ma’am. You can file a report if you want but nothing will be done about it.

HUH?

Alarms are too expensive and the kids are never prosecuted, but I’ll take a statement if you want.

WHEW!

These children – I assume children – nothing was missing that should have been – had violated two human beings and no one seemed to care.

I guess I will clean up the mess and everyone will pretend nothing happened. Those pics of my R are irreplaceable. Maybe I should be extending that benefit of the doubt – the pity that says they probably don’t have anything like I have in the way of a family. I may have lost those pictures, but i still have and live what is in them.

Grace. It is a dilemma – grace today might mean bigger and badder crimes later. Grace today might mean they will grow out of this phase.

I pray my attitude will not be influenced by this in the coming year – these children presumably do go to my school or did in the past.

Today my sense of mercy has been taken down a notch but I will try to turn the other cheek – the police gave me little other choice and in turn perhaps the Lord did as well.

Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, faith, family, life, psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Material and Emotional Vandalism

  1. Shirley says:

    You, my dear, are a human being, and though we have the grace of God working in us, our human feelings are real, natural and to be expected. Indeed, I would find it wrong to dismiss such actions as was perpetrated by these youngsters (or oldsters).

    Take a deep breath and turn it over to God (since you have already called in the police :))”Vegeance is mine….(unless you happen to catch the little rascals, in which case I give you permission to tap their guilty knuckles with a rather sharp ruler!)

    Blessings,

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  2. Helen Losse says:

    Dear Ellen,
    How awful you must feel. You will be in my prayers as well as the people who did this. May God give the grace to do what you feel you must.
    Love, Helen

  3. hockamama says:

    Oh, Ellen, I am so sorry to read this. Sometimes it’s hard to find grace and mercy within; but you are a wonderful and caring person, so I have no doubt that those traits still reside inside your heart. You’ll be in my prayers. Much love.

  4. Larry says:

    Ellen, sorry, real world is tough. It is good to be forgiving. It’s also ok to be angry. Jesus had righteous anger when neccessary. You are doing just fine. My prayers are with you.

    Larry

  5. Jayleigh says:

    Ellen, I am so sorry you are having to deal with the vandalism, but moreso the who cares attitude exhibited by your partner and the police. I am praying for you that your heart is healed and that you can go on without the feeling of violation. **hugs**

  6. Nan says:

    A violation. A violation of not only your emotions and materials but also of your heart. I often wonder how some people can be so cruel. Blaming it on youthful pranks is no excuse. And as you mentioned ignoring the problem is no solution either. I am terribly sorry for your loss.

    Nan

Leave a Reply

