Oh The Places You’ll Go

I found a great site where you can plug in all the states or countries you have visited and get a map that depicts where you have and haven’t been.

My country map would have been very boring – oh let’s see – there’s the good ol’ USA. So I decided to go with the state map.

I was quite fascinated to find that I had visited 24 states. Prior to meeting Dave, my husband, that number probably was half that. In fact I should do a pre-Dave map to find out just how much of the world has been opened to me – if only we had more hours in the day.

My husband puts my map to shame. He has visited all of the states with the exception of Arkansas – don’t ask me why. Arkansas is a perfectly respectable state! I mean even Walmart was founded there!

He has lived in Puerto Rico and visited the Phillipines, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, and several eastern European countries. I am sure there are more, but his wanderlust has rubbed off on me and while his trips have become a little less exotic since I entered the picture (his employer was the military and was responsible for much of the foreign travel), adventures are an important part of our everyday life.

We have gone to New England many times over to visit his blessed mom and two brothers and family. The first such trip, he had me meet him in Times Square! He says presentation is everything.

We have driven to Florida to visit his brother and while there tubed in a beautiful crystal clear river and where I saw orange tree for the first time. I lead a sheltered life!

 We have flown to California to visit another brother’s family and an uncle whose family is large warm and welcoming. While there I saw the New Year come in in the middle of the San Francisco Bay, stepped in that Pacific for my first time, and touched mighty redwoods!

That brother’s family opened the door to Maui to me. Where again, I am short on time in summing up what I saw and how incredibly beautiful Hawaii is but I have posted on it before.

Work has taken Dave (and me) to Michigan with a meandering trip through parts of Ohio where the Amish live on the way there and a ride on what was at the time, the tallest and fastest roller coaster in the world on the way back. There is NEVER a dull moment with Dave and if I say “why don’t we get off this exit and find the first local greasy spoon we see?”, he is always all for it! He is always game for a new sight or sound or taste!

We are hoping to add Vietnam or China to the list of places we have explored one day in the not too distant future as we explore the expanding of our family.

I hope you’ll visit the site where I found this map. If you feel like life is a little boring or like adventure has not come your way, you may surprise yourself by exactly how many places you have seen. I don’t know about you but when I choose to do this, my own backyard gains new luster! Try it!

Peace!


create your own visited states map or check out these Google Hacks.

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, family, life, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh The Places You’ll Go

  1. Larry says:

    My wife and I are road trip freaks! I’m headed to this site as soon as I finish posting. Thank you for putting it up. Sorry for not posting in a while. Have been a bit out of sorts.

    Aloha! 🙂

    Larrh

  2. Carol says:

    I have traveled more in the past 2 years than I ever have in my life. During this year, we went on a missions trip to Costa Rica and went to quite a few places in California for Bible quizzing competitions with the kids. Traveling is fun sometimes, but I really am more of the homebody sort. Anyhow, thanks for posting this traveler’s site.

    Blessings,

    Carol

Leave a Reply

