Drama Queen

I have loved theater as far back as I can remember. My parent would watch old movie musicals on television – Oklahoma, South Pacific, Singing in the Rain. Then my brother got the bug. He is 8 years older than I am and started doing school theater in 9th grade. At the ripe old age of 6, I sat wide eyed staring at my brother doing a larger than life portrayal of Petruchio in the Taming of the Shrew. As my reading skills grew, I became my hero’s on book line coach reading each part for him with all the feeling I could muster. He was Mortimer Brewster in Arsenic and Old Lace, Curly in Oklahoma, and a guy named Mike Tallman in Wait Until Dark. How I wanted to be like him!

My personal experience with theater  started back stage as stage hand and then assistant stage manager – I wanted to act like my brother but I was shy and dumpy and during high school it wasn’t to be.

When I went to college, I auditioned for the musical version of Some Like it Hot – I was cast as a tap dancing gangster named Dude. That was to be the extent of it until I finished my master’s degree and settled in a small town in my state. They had a small, tight, intense theater group and yet again I was hooked!

For 5 years I fed my addiction of stage lights and then I moved.

Last year, I got the courage to audition for Damn Yankees – what a rush – I sang on stage solo for the first time in my life – wow!!! I was cast as Meg and had an incredible blast.

Where is this going? Well, tonight is an audition for a play that I would LOVE to be in. I’m going to give it my best shot. I am nervous – no one likes rejection. But I will never know until I try.

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, life, theater, Theater/Stage Plays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Drama Queen

  1. hockamama says:

    I’m sorry I didn’t read this in time to wish you good luck, but it sounds like you may not need it. What play is it? When are the performances? Oh, and what part did you get?

  2. helenl says:

    Break a leg, Ellen. Break a leg.

  3. Jayleigh says:

    Hey I hope you got the part!!! Update please? 🙂

Leave a Reply

