A View Into the World Around Me

My husband gave a rather extravagant gift to me this past fall. Out of the blue, he presented me with a Nikon D70 camera. In my real world life, I am shy – bordering the reclusive and a camera is a scary thing. I don’t like taking people pictures because just like my camera-less personality, I don’t want to invade their turf. I generally assume people don’t have use for me in their world so to add a camera to the mix is not very comfortable for me. What I have noticed is that there is a definite trend in my photos. Winding roads, far off places, paths that can carry me from where I am to places I want to be both physically and psychologically. Then there are the photos that capture how small we are in the universe, that there is something so much greater out there. My photos are a paradox. Suffering from the blues almost chronically, I live in a gray, stagnant world. Looking over my photos, I realize I am always seeking the way out and a world full of color and beauty. I never thought photography could be therapy of sorts but as I was collecting some photos last night for a play portfolio, I recognized the recurring theme of reaching out and up, spiritual icons and bright splashes of color – the world I want to live in is on the other side of my lens and the only way I can get there is in captured snippets of time. Now I have to figure out how to get from this side of my lens over the rainbow.

www.momentsbyellen.com

Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, faith, life, media, nikon, photography, psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A View Into the World Around Me

  1. maryann says:

    I was stuck by the fact you stated you suffer from the blues almost chronically. You put it quite succintly. I have that in my life as well. Now that you have a camera and are taking and analyzing photographs, have you seen the work of Diane Arbus?

    These are just random thoughts. I will always think of you as Wilson.

  2. Nan says:

    The blues sneak up on me sometimes and it isn’t pleasant. Thanks for the comment on my Wonderings. Wanted to tell you that I am moving. The Wonderings are associated with Reidsville Free Press and Jeff is shutting that down soon so I am working on making my own wordpress Wonderings. I hope your camera brings you much joy Ellen.

    Nan

  3. writeathome says:

    Ellen,

    Your photos are gorgeous! I know life can be depressing if we focus on the negative, of which there seems to be so much. When I’m feeling down I look for promises in the Bible or Scriptures about hope that I can cling to. I try to saturate my mind with these, because I have found there is power in the Word of God. I encourage you to try it. 🙂

  4. bereans says:

    Hi Ellen!

    Completely blown away by the photography! I have attempted in the past, but come nowhere close to what you have accomplished in a short amount of time. It is an artform, and you are definitely an artist.

    -j

    Proverbs 3:5,6

  5. helenl says:

    Dear Ellen, Please be a part of my world. I need all the friends I can get. Please know that even with “the blues” you have something special that I need and want. Please take your friends with you as you go over the rainbow. Love, Helen

  6. Ellen says:

    Thank you for your kind words and support. They mean more to me than you will ever know.

    peace

    ellen

  7. hockamama says:

    you take my breath away…I love taking pictures, it’s nice to know that we have that in common. unfortunately, the blues also bind us. sometimes it seems we pass encouragement back and forth, but that’s what friends are for, no? anyway, I’m sending you cyberhugs, ellen. know that you’re in my thoughts frequently.

    love you

  8. Dyellort says:

    Hi all. Cool site Google
    Thank.

  9. lugToush says:

    Hi all. Cool site zawermash Google
    Thank.

Leave a Reply

