Getting there

USCG gala

This post is so inconsequential but I saw further down I had posted progress pictures. I was down 30 pounds. Since then I have lost an additional 20. I think I have lost a total of 50 in the photo above – but I lost something more along the way. A post in The Bereans got me thinking. For 9 months I have eaten, slept, read, researched and totally been consumed by my weight loss journey. It has become my idol – my “savior” in the midst of chaos. In fact, I have boasted about the sense of control this weight loss program gives me when the seas of life are tossing me about. I am obviously seeking peace and order in the wrong place. Only one Source can provide adequate spiritual nourishment. So while I am in no way giving up my journey to a healthier physical temple, I have to back off of the total obsession – God can help me finish this journey without my need to obsess.

Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, faith, life, losing weight, weight loss, weightloss. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting there

  1. Nan says:

    I think you are beautiful no matter what you weigh. I think God always brings us back to where he knows we need to be to get where we want to go. He is always more faithful to us than we are to Him. At least I think so.
    Praise and Love
    Nan

  2. Ellen says:

    Thanks, Nan! That is what I am rediscovering this week. Thank you for your kind and loving words!

  3. hockamama says:

    look at that beauty! it’s so easy to be sidetracked and let other things become our idols, we often do it without even realizing it. good luck, ellen.

  4. bereans says:

    Hi Ellen!

    You’re back and that is ALL that matters!

    Philippians 3:13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but [this] one thing [I do], forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

    -j

Leave a Reply

