7 Years

djs_3289.jpg

I met my husband online – still moderately unorthodox to many, but at the time when I met him, very unorthodox. To this day, I mumble the answer when asked how we met.  The time and the circumstances are fresh in my mind. It was May 11, 2000 and I had been a member of an online matchmaking site for about 6 months. I had dated a few people, but was really sort of burned out on the dating thing and probably still not quite ready due to a pretty recent failure of my first marriage. I had maintained my membership because the site has this wonderful chatroom and I had discovered a wonderful world of friendship there. The friendships I had built had gone outside of that chatroom and I was contemplating letting my membership go. Out of curiosity that night, I checked on who was online and there he was, signing up, writing his profile, posting a picture with the kindest smiliest eyes. I had become the self appointed cheerleader, ambassador to people in my area and just shot off an inocuous email to the effect of “this is a nice place. There are some great people here. I wish you the best of luck in finding what you are looking for”.  That’s all she wrote – both literally and figuratively. He wrote back – slightly freaked, because I share the name of his first wife. He got over that fact quickly. We exchanged email for about a week and our first date would be May 20 in person. Not quite the same as the relationships that incubate online and are taken into the real world after months.  His poured his heart and soul into that first date and swept me off of my feet.

It has not always been a fairytale case of happily ever after – we are two humans, who have had true real world hurts and issues brought to the table which do not complicate a simple first relationship. I have learned a lot from him and I love him more and more every day. The timing of our meeting at times seems not to have been perfect, but we are committed to each other and to God. We have shared many trials from financial to emotional to physical. He is a wonderful supporter to me and I like to think I am to him. So today I celebrate 7 years of blessing and growth. In some ways it seems like yesterday. I love you, Dave.

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, family, home. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 Years

  1. writeathome says:

    Ellen,

    Congratulations to you and Dave. I hope you have many more happy years together!

  2. hockamama says:

    why do you mumble when explaining your circumstances? one great thing about meeting online, is that you get to know a person before you see them, so that your judgements and feelings are based on personality, not looks. now, obviously, there are instances of dishonesty, but aren’t they also present in traditional relationships? no matter how you met him, it’s evident that he is the person you were meant to be with, so phooey on anyone else!

    by the way, happy 7 year meeting anniversary! love ya

  3. donna says:

    It does happen….congratulations..
    God is good

  4. helenl says:

    Happy Anniversary, Ellen. Hope you have many more.

  5. Pattie says:

    I also met my husband online– back in 1998 when people automatically assumed that anyone online was probably a psycho of some sort. We met through ICQ (kind of like instant messenger). We will celebrate our 7 year anniversary this month, and our 3rd baby this fall. (o:

Leave a Reply

