Historic Edenton

Edenton is where my husband and I had our first date. It is a beautiful town rich with history. Tiny shops line its main street and this quaint town sits on the Chowan River. Back in the day we lived 60 miles apart. We would meet in the middle and were lucky enough to have this enchanting place be the midpoint. If we had a care, we would go to Edenton and walk and talk or sit on a bench and watch the ducks and seagulls.

 Last night, we went back. It has been a long time since I felt okay there – there are some personal ghosts I would rather forget and funny, last night is the first time I completely considered them forgotten. We went there to take photographs and discuss some pleasant issues that have arisen. Dave has booked a wedding this summer – he will be the photographer. I will be his assistant. It should end up being amazing and as we close the loop, you will hear more, but I do not want to jinx us at this time.

We dined in Waterman’s as we did on our second date. They have incredible atmosphere, service, and food whether you are choosing to dine for 20 dollars or 120 dollars.

Our evening was pleasant and we got some great time together and some great shots of sunsets and roses and mainstreet and I practiced assertive picture directing – please sit here, place your hand here, look over where my hand is, SMILE. It was a wonderful night.

Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Historic Edenton

  1. helenl says:

    Hi Ellen. Edenton looks like a delightful place. We are going to Washington, NC on Sunday for a birthday party. It’s a bit bigger and futher south than Edenton. We’ve not been to that part of the state before, having lived in Charlott and Winston-Salem for many years.

  2. writeathome says:

    It does look like a beautiful place. If I ever get down that way, I wouldn’t mind visiting, but it’s quite a distance from California. LOL Glad you had a nice time.

  3. hockamama says:

    sounds lovely. time together, away from home, that’s what makes me happy. we’ve talked about going to edenton, ever since kris studied nc history back in the 4th grade.

    congrats on the wedding job!

  4. Larry says:

    I love North Carolina, Blowing Rock, Cherokee, And Asheville. I never made it to Edenton, would love to go.

    I live in the area I am from and It gives me the willys at times too.

    Larry

Leave a Reply

