Craigslist is a Wonderful Thing – or how I spent some of my bonus

It is so much fun to flip through the classifieds on Craigslist. I find all sorts of things – I rarely purchase them, but it is amazing what is out there. For those of you who don’t know, Craigslist is a free classified system encompassing real estate, merchandise for sale, jobs, gigs, and services offered. They are local communities.

I have been wanting a “real” dining room table with matching chairs. I have a lovely Duncan Phyfe table but no matching chairs so we have this eclectic collection ranging from windsor back to lawn chairs circling it and when company comes we break out the rolling office chair.

Last night I caught a dining set on craigslist. It was beyond cool – a dolphin pedestal with cream colored chairs. Not what my taste used to be, but I was drawn to it. When I contacted the seller less than an hour after she posted it, she told me several people had already expressed interest. My loving husband told me he would be up there right when she got off work because she was operating under a first come first served.

This was her first craigslist experience and while I got my lovely table, I cannot help but feel guilty – someone offered her 150 more if she would refuse our offer and wait for them. She was an honorable person who very kindly upheld her first come first served policy and now it is sitting in my dining room with nearly half a paycheck left to spare. Thank you, Holly for your encouragement to do something nice for myself.

My new table

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in animals, Blogroll, family, home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Craigslist is a Wonderful Thing – or how I spent some of my bonus

  1. helenl says:

    Real nice. Aren’t you glad you did soemthing for yourself. And it’s for you, yes, but it’s also to share, so it’s doubly good. I think it’s very classy.

  2. hockamama says:

    yay for you!! that’s a very snazzy dining set you’ve found, great job. I recently discovered craigslist myself, and have quickly become enamored. I think it could probably get me in trouble 😀 I really like that table and chairs, ellen, and I’m proud of you.

  3. denise says:

    I’m looking for a couch and a dining room table for my recent move, and someone suggested craigslist. Now that I see it’s actually legit, I just might consider it.

Leave a Reply

