I am such a visual person

After a short deliberation, I suppose I have determined my favorite of the five senses. Don’t get me wrong – there is nothing like a piece of music that makes me cry or my heart soar. The smell of my mom or gardenia brings a huge smile to my face. Good food – well other than nervous eating, let’s just say there is a reason I have struggled with my weight my entire life. As far as tactile, I love a velux blanket or warm water or a hug from someone I trust. But all senses can be the medium for negative input as well. Fingers on a chalkboard, the whiff of rotten meat, the taste of sour milk, and for me cold air.

I have deliberately left out one of the senses. As I made my way through the weekend – with said “bonus” money trying to find the balance between doing something nice for myself but making it something the entire family would benefit from, I got my fill of eye candy and moreso than any other sensory mode, the consistent dead on opinion (like or don’t like) of almost everything I encountered. I knew that the white seashell dishes were THE ONES after perusing many aisles of dishes at this huge wonderland call The Williamsburg Pottery – bam – no second guessing – no second thoughts.

Again, after aisle after aisle of poster prints and frames, I immediately zeroed in on the picture below for my dining room wall and when sitting in our friends’ (who are also framers) dining room and going through literally 10s if not hundreds of mat combos, I had a certainty when we dialed up seamfoam green, colonial blue, and dove gray.

dsc_3675.jpg

 

 

Then a friend introduced me to these awesome word expressions for walls and I finally received mine this weekend. I knew exactly where to put it and it makes me smile when I look at it.

dsc_3672.jpg

 

I am never quite as certain about sounds or smells or tastes – but when I see something great and I qualify that as being great to me I know.

I wish I could approach the rest of life with such certainty. Sometimes my values and morals get sloppy although I know where to find the ultimate barometer. Sometimes my failure to choose is a choice in and of itself. I often think I am the lukewarm vomit spoken of in revelation but find peace in the fact that certainty lays somewhere within me. Two of my colleagues presented me with a couple of burned cd’s yesterday as a very early birthday gift – I think I will listen to them now and try to figure out whether or not I like them.

Peace

 

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, faith, home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am such a visual person

  1. helenl says:

    Dear Ellen, You don’t seem “lukewarm” at all. You seem warm and friendly and caring.

  2. writeathome says:

    I really like both of the pictures. You have good taste!

  3. Tomas says:

    Dear Elen, thank you for visiting my blog and the wonderful review. I greatly appreciate your words.
    I have red a bit on your blog and that uplifted me too. You dont flame with high statements, but confess the truth. You dont throw the declarations, but open your heart, and therefore I feel myself as in the precious hug where words are the needless, and all colors whishper – welcome the sunbeam and enjoy in heaven while sinking in gratitude. Thank you.

  4. hockamama says:

    good job in your acquisitions. enjoyed by you, but also others. although, I notice still nothing personal…that perfect dress, a great book…

    you are NOT lukewarm vomit, you are warm and tender and genuine; you speak to my heart and soul, and I love you for that.

Leave a Reply

