Wanderlust

R and I are hanging tonight. Her father – my husband – decided to take a road trip. He has a friend of many years whose car is on its last legs. We have been blessed many times over when car difficulties came our way. A car or van always seemed to make its way to us for a reasonable price and no problems that Dave couldn’t handle. Recently we have made several vehicle acquisitions and were going to sell two of them to regain the money spent on Dave’s dream 1993 (maybe 89) conversion camper van he had begged for my approval of – Ellen I will feed it and love and it and I promise it won’t get too big. Believe me – 2 conversion vans and 1 wrecked conversion van in our yard and I will tell you it is TOO big. I digress. I am promised that the wreck and the non camper van will be history within the next two weeks. We’ll see.

So we were talking about his 1989 volvo which still has a ton of life in it but was also going to go. His friend popped into my head. This friend has had many struggles – some self induced, others not, but isn’t that the way it is for most of us? Unfortunately, my mind wandered back to all of Dave’s circle who we have enabled and not helped – lessons learned and sometimes not. I truly try  not to be a tit for tat person but the trend in the past has been to give to takers and it wears after a while – these people are still takers, charming takers, but takers. This person on the other hand, has shared a balanced relationship for many years with my husband and has given in friendship, support, and kindness and vice versa. So it was suggested that Dave give him his precious volvo as opposed to selling it. Random act of kindness and all – I am not telling this t sound like a pharisee – the list is endless about people who have had mercy and grace on us with the hope we would pass it on.

Anyway, Dave loves change and loves the road so as I type he is driving 650 miles to New England and flying back home tomorrow. He benefits, his friend benefits, and R and I have some testosterone free living if only for 24 hours.

peace 

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, family, home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wanderlust

  1. Larry says:

    Ouch! if only I could get some estrogen free living here. Very cool what you are doing for your friend.

    Larry

  2. hockamama says:

    benevolent…kind…compassionate…generous… charitable…thoughtful…neighborly…gracious… merciful…devoted…noble…humanitarian… I could go on, but I think you get the idea. the world needs more people who pay it forward. y’all are such good people. no wonder I love you.

Leave a Reply

