This is a day of new beginnings

One of my favorite modern hymns was written by Brian Wren.

This Is A Day Of New Beginnings

This is a day of new beginnings,
time to remember and move on,
time to believe what love is bringing,
laying to rest the pain that’s gone.

For by the life and death of Jesus,
love’s mighty Spirit, now as then,
can make for us a world of difference,
as faith and hope are born again.

Then let us, with the Spirit’s daring,
step from the past and leave behind
our disappointment, guilt, and grieving,
seeking new paths, and sure to find.

Christ is alive, and goes before us
to show and share what love can do.
This is a day of new beginnings;
our God is making all things new.

-Brian Wren, 1978

I kept humming this song this weekend. Yesterday was the culmination of a 3 year building project at our church. We moved into the new building, consecrated it and celebrated again last night with a covered dish followed by a period of worship. I love the church I attend. It is led by a group of God seeking ministers who leave ego at the door and are always looking for God’s will. The building process from start to finish was filled with prayer from the acquisition of the land to the first song of the service. As I have mentioned before Dave and I struggle to make our home centered on God. It seems that we let so many every day annoyances and crises pull us away rather than solidify the foundation. That being said, I knew what a momentous occasion this new beginning was for our church and awoke to tell him that it needed to be our family’s new beginning as well. No more excuses as to why we couldn’t go to Sunday School. No more excuses as to why one time per week of entering our church home was enough. The sermon brought this home to me. Our pastor had been praying over the message for weeks. It was entitled “We have the castle – now where is the King?” He made several points but the one that hit me between the eyes was “The Lord will not stay where he is not worshipped” – OUCH. As life has gotten more complicated, I have displaced our King in my life. I have a nice game face, but as discussed before I feel so lost. I want the Lord to be in my church, I want the Lord to be in my home but most of all I want the Lord to be in my life. I (and my collective home) have failed to keep the Lord front and center and He has not vengefully left me or us, but He is a jealous God.

Yesterday was a day of new beginnings “time to remember and move on, time to believe what love is bringing, bring to rest the pain that is gone”

Peace 
 

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, church, faith, family, home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This is a day of new beginnings

  1. hockamama says:

    “let us rejoice, let us rejoice, and be glad in it”. wouldn’t it be nice if it were a perfect world, and God was front and center? however, we are human, and as such, we sometimes misplace our priorities. I am so very guilty of this, and I think even those people that we look up to, (you know the ones, the people we want to be like) sometimes struggle. there is always hope for us, ellen. God is jealous, but also faithful.

  2. helenl says:

    “All Hail King Jesus.” May He become foremost in all we say and do.

  3. helenl says:

    Hi Ellen, Hope you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

