Start Spreading the News

There is something really cool about the song New York, New York. My heart becomes full of excitement whenever I hear it.  I get this feeling of anticipation that is truly hard to explain. What an amazing city with an even more amazing pulse.  I will be there tomorrow and so look forward to the magic and the movement.

Today there is that same kind of energy at my school. Children, full of excitement and anticipation, with 2 hours to go before being released to enjoy the holidays. There is so much hope and expectation – and while my school is in an area deeply effected by poverty, community involvement and love help to prevent these children whose hearts still believe the magic from learning all too young that Christmas is only for some people. Christmas is for everyone.

A lot of things have been swimming in my head this holiday season. My pastor has been preaching some powerful sermons and a friend on another blog posted something really thought provoking as well. My mind is starting to drift to the question of what kind of mother do I really want to be – both to R who will be with us for about 3 more years and to our child who is yet to come. How will I impart my faith? How will I impart morality and values? What are the important battles? I shouldn’t have to think about these things – if I had the depth of faith and relationship with the Living God of all things, I would be in the state of “becoming” a person from whom my children and others would learn.

There should be the same anticipation and excitement on my part that I have for this break, that I have for our trip to NYC with regard to my Savior and his gift of salvation to me and all who seek it. I would like to start spreading the news by living the news and owning the news.

That God sent a tiny baby to this earth, born in a stable filled with smelly animals to reach me, love me and then die so that we might live – so that I might live. Me, an sinner, someone who falls short on a daily basis. Christmas in its humble beginnings should humble me.

I long that this year it will be different – that a tiny baby, wrapped in rags, and washed in starlight will outshine the tinsel and the tree, the packages and the bows, for there IS no greater gift this Christmas than the little babe born in Bethlehem.

Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, church, faith, family, home, life, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Start Spreading the News

  1. writeathome says:

    Hi Ellen,

    It’s good to see you blogging again. I hope you and your family will enjoy this wonderful Christmas season and that 2008 will be chock full of God’s blessings.

    Carol

  2. writeathome says:

    Ellen,

    Just stopping by to wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas!

    Blessings,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

