So I got a sewing machine for Christmas

I have always wanted one. I find them quite scary and way over my head, but oh to be able to sew some very personalized things for my home and my loved ones!

My first project was a pair of drawstring pajama pants – they had pockets but I skipped the pockets. This was an absolute first and I didn’t want to have pocket issues. They turned out okay – they are a little snug thanks to Christmas goodies, but I look forward to shrinking into them. They are red, black and white – a whimsical pattern with coffee cups on the fabric. I have enough fabric left over to maybe make a drawstring bag or a hair scrunchy.

I am not as frightened by my machine anymore and hope to find some easy toddler patterns or blanket patterns for my long wait in our adoption.

 Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, home, life, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So I got a sewing machine for Christmas

  1. Shirley says:

    Congratulations on the sewing projects.

    Have a wonderful New Year!

  2. helenl says:

    Hi Ellen, Sounds like fun. I’m not good using a sewing machine, haven’t use one in many years, and prefer hand sewing. But this sounds rewarding. Hope you find the patterns you need.

  3. hockamama says:

    oh, ellen, that’s so exciting! I LOVE to sew, I have really put some hours on my new machine. wouldn’t it be cool to have a sewing retreat, kind of like they do the scrappin’ thing? boy, does that make me sound like a nerd! I hope you get lots of enjoyment from it.

  4. writeathome says:

    Hope you enjoy your new sewing machine. Happy New Year!

  5. kikikaria says:

    Congratulations on your new sewing machine! I received a new one for Christmas about 4 years ago, and I really enjoy it. A friend of mine has an embroidery machine, and she downloads patterns from the Internet. She sewed a baby blanket for my sister’s new son, and even embroidered his name on the blanket.

    Hope you enjoy your machine and have many successful projects made! Then we can call you Dorcas!

Leave a Reply

