The Mean Reds

  • “Listen…you know those days when you get the mean reds?” –Holly.
    “The mean reds? You mean like the blues?” –Fred (Paul).
    “No… the blues are because you’re getting fat or because it’s been raining too long. You’re just sad, that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?” –Holly.
    “Sure.” –Fred (Paul).
    “When I get it the only thing that does any good is to jump into a cab and go to Tiffany’s. Calms me down right away.” –Holly.
  • One of my favorite movies of all time is Breakfast at Tiffany’s. There is something about the naivete and loneliness that Audrey Hepburn’s character exhibits that hits to my very core. It isn’t that I have wild cocktail parties in my house or smoke using a long cigarette holder. I see that wide eyed look and want to embrace Holly Golightly. If you haven’t seen the movie, perhaps I would suggest a viewing. On the other hand, it wasn’t something my husband enjoyed.

    Holly speaks of the mean reds. This concept has intrigued me and from time to times rears its head in my world. My mean reds usually occur at beginnings – the beginning of a new age for me on my birthday, the beginning of a new school year, the beginning of a new year and the beginning of the summer. I posted a comment on another blog about how I dislike surprises and change. I am afraid this is true.

    Surprises require the relinquishment of control. The trust that something good or different can come without your input. I never have done quite well with that. But as I have had some major spiritual aha moments in the past month, I realize I have to be open to the surprises God has in store and not resist them or hide from them.

    Change is not as negative of a concept because I tend to have input in change. I hope as I come to know God better, I will experience change in who I am and how I treat others.

    I know all about mean reds. Today is one of those days as the weather gets cooler and the clouds start to gather. It is January. The Christmas decorations have been put away and I am in the middle of gathering paperwork for our dossier. In spite of this, I know this too shall pass and without Holly Golightly’s solution of walking through Tiffany’s and leaving with a robin’s egg blue box or bag. I need to seek solace in God and my lean on my family.

    Peace

    About Ellen

    I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
    This entry was posted in Blogroll, faith, family, life. Bookmark the permalink.

    2 Responses to The Mean Reds

    1. hockamama says:

      ALTHOUGH….that little blue box from tiffany’s would be nice 😀 I enjoyed that movie, audrey hepburn was so chic and elegant. and the young george peppard sure was a handsome gent.

      ellen, your ever-growing faith is a constant inspiration for me.

    2. hockamama says:

      p.s. I like the new look!

    Leave a Reply

    