No Dead Sticks

My husband has a friend who owns several web domains. They are primarily for travel and tourism. Recently a dialogue was opened about us writing little travelogues about our area and taking photos to be posted on these sites.  In an exchange today he said “no dead sticks” and went on to request that photography wait until the world greens up a little. As he put it “dead sticks for trees and brown for grass is not the most appealing”.

 I got to thinking about how I have been a dead stick at least externally going on close to 7 years. I think we all have our phases where we are fallow and while life may be coursing along under the surface, all outward appearances would reveal no evidence of life in us. It has been quite cyclical for me – the less I feel I have to offer, the less I feel I have to offer.

Through a process of tremendous pruning lately, I believe I actually may start to bloom this season. As to what this will look like, only time will tell – but dead sticks are not very appealing in the kingdom and while removing what is not useful is uncomfortable and at times painful – it is necessary for bearing fruit. I so much want to finally bear fruit.

 Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, church, faith, life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Dead Sticks

  1. Terrific Post. Gets me thinkin where am I on this?

  2. writeathome says:

    Yes, sometimes we go through these “dead stick” seasons in our lives where it seems not much is happening, but God is still working. I actually wrote a poem about this not too long ago, but I like the way you put into words this process. Thanks for sharing.

    Here is a link to the poem.

    http://writeathome.wordpress.com/2007/12/13/winter/

Leave a Reply

