Happy Birthday

My husband had two family members who shared this date as their birthday. They were both incredible people that I am thankful I had the privilege of knowing.

His mother was a dynamic, strong woman whose life was a lesson. She grew up during the depression but lived a rich life. Though life was a challenge she successfully raised 5  sons and chose to follow her dream of becoming a nurse when she was close to 50 years old. What I take from her is acceptance, grace, and the knowledge that it is never too late to start over and pursue a dream. We lost her in the Fall of 2004.

On her 60th birthday, my mother-in-law became a grandmother to a talented and kind young  man. He was handsome and outgoing and never met a stranger. He was talented in the arts and was at home on the stage. His life was snuffed out one day shy of his 21st birthday in 2002. He is sorely missed by everyone in the family.

I was lucky enough to have spent time with both of them and their lives touched me, although I almost don’t feel justified in saying that I miss them because people in this world shared such a larger part of their world. I do miss them. I especially miss Dave’s mom.

Happy Birthday, Cathy and Matt.

Peace to you and….

Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, family, home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

