Hibernation

I have been MIA. Incubating, hibernating- just being. Winter has kind of thrown me into a contemplative mode and while much of what I contemplated I share, as I got deeper I didn’t really want to peel away all of the layers that were unprocessed or at least underprocessed.

My wonderful husband painted our living room for me in its entirety Friday even removing molding and socket/outlet covers. This was a true act of love as he despises paint but the color makes me feel so warm and happy. I had a hunch it would.

I have begun participating in an evening women’s bible study called For Women Only written by Shaunti Feldhahn and have thrown myself bodily into it. The first week was on a man’s need for respect. It was truly an eye opening week and gave me insight into why I struggle at times in my marriage and why perhaps I am greatly responsible for the demise of my first marriage.  OUCH!

There has emerged within me a peace – truth be told, the peace that passes all understanding. Some major life shifters/shakers have washed over us lately and I am still standing with the peace and knowledge that regardless of anything – God will be with me. I even have started going back to Sunday school. We are studying a book by Jim Cymbala of the Brooklyn Tabernacle.

I guess I am still in awe about how long it took me to find God again especially when He has been waiting here patiently for several years. He has held me and let me rest in Him for the past couple of months. What a blessing.

Peace

About Ellen

I cannot even begin to describe who I am other than broken in body and soul with a dose of the only Hope there is. If you read me, you will know me.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, church, faith, home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hibernation

  1. writeathome says:

    Hi Ellen,

    It’s good to see you back in the blogworld again. When I read your post, I thought of a song that I used to sing as a teenager in a trio with my brother and another girl from our church. It was called, He Was There All The Time, and in case you have never heard it, I hope you don’t mind me putting the words here.

    Time after time, I went searching for peace in some void.
    I was trying to blame all my ills on this world I was in.
    Surface relationships used me till I was done in,
    and all the while Someone was begging to free me from sin.

    Chorus:
    He was there all the time. He was there all the time. Waiting patiently in line. He was there all the time.

    Never again will I look for a fake rainbow’s end.
    Now that I found that answer, my life is just starting to rhyme.
    Sharing each new day with Him is a cup of fresh life,
    and oh what I missed, He was waiting right there all the time.

    Thank God that He is so patient with all of us. Thank you for this post.

    Blessings,

    Carol

  2. writeathome says:

    Ellen,

    Just stopped by to say hello and let you know that someone is thinking of you. I pray that all is well.

    Blessings,
    Carol

  3. Shirley says:

    Checking on you. Are you alright?

  4. Carol says:

    Hi Ellen,

    Just wanted to pop in and wish you and your family a Happy Thanksgiving. I hope you’ll be able to return to blogging soon. You are missed.

  5. helenl says:

    Happy New Year, Ellen. How about poking your head out long enough to let us know you’re all right?

Leave a Reply

